1. You can now buy finished microcontroller project from us, Check out the Store for the complete list of projects.
  2. Need a custom project, Send us some details about your project. So that we can quote the price for it.

Wish to get started with 89V51RD2 (8051)

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers' started by lilpirate, May 23, 2011.

1. lilpirate

lilpirate New Member

Hello people,

I'm new to electronics and trying to build a land-rover caaar. I found out Arduino Uno and quite understand the initial steps I need to take to get started with it and go on to build my car.

I learnt that Arduino Uno isn't available locally and is too costly when I order it from another city (I'm in India). But while checking a local shop, the guy showed me the P89V51RD2 ( 8051 ) controller. I didn't buy it right away but came to do a bit research. My initial findings were that it's quite more powerful than the Arduino Uno. I bought it for Rs. 1000 (~$25).

Now I am sitting on my desk thinking about what I am supposed to do with this. What I basically plan is to hookup this board, a breadboard, an L293DNE IC and two motors together.

But I can't understand where should I start. Answering a few questions would aid me a lot :
    1 - What's difference between the 89V51RD2 I bought and Arduino Uno?
    2 - What should I do to start porgramming ( in C? I'm familiar with programming languages so this part isn't the problem at all )?
    3 - The board has a serial port. I tried to connect it with the SERIAL PORT-USB converter I bought but windows isn't showing anything other than "Unknown device found" even after I installed the drivers for the converter.